Talk

Advanced search

Writing a novel: things that surprised you

(14 Posts)
FloatingObject Sun 13-Oct-19 10:12:39

One thing that surprised me is how little time I actually spent writing compared to thinking. I'm a pretty fast writer, and I'd say about 80% of my "creative process", in terms of actual time spent, has been staring into space and figuring out dynamics, twists, structure. Then I would sit down and bash out the scene, and go back to staring into space again.

RuffleCrow Sun 13-Oct-19 10:18:40

This is interesting. I've been writing quite a lot since the new year. I have notebooks full of observations, poems, bits of novel and now i see the process as weaving them into some kind of shape and editing with a huge pair of shears. I suppose i'm not very conventional when it comes to my favourite books and i doubt my book will be either. I'm surprised at how crap my original writing sounds when i read it back tbh!

Fiacla Sun 13-Oct-19 10:35:43

Good question! How many drafts there would be, and how different the version my agent is sending out is from the very first one — there isn’t a single sentence the same in the two. How often a problem was solved when I was out for a walk, or half-asleep or fully engaged in something else. That I would turn out to be someone who wrote unusually short novels.

everythingcrossed Sun 13-Oct-19 10:43:14

I guess I thought that once I had the story and the basic characters in my head, it would , well, not exactly write itself but would come together however, it was a real slog, partly because it isn't all about telling the story <well, duh> I needed to add lots of relatively uninteresting nuts and bolts eg, explain how a character got from one part of the house to another - the doorbell rings, she goes to answer it, it's her friend, they go to the living room rather than her friend just being there and getting to the point of the scene.