Talk

Advanced search

New Open University Creative Writing MA

(8 Posts)
AristotlesTrousers Fri 24-Feb-17 06:14:13

Just wondering if anybody is doing this or planning to?

I've wanted to do an MA in Creative Writing for years, but for various reasons it hasn't been possible until now. Ideally I want to study in my own time (so distance learning) and I also want to focus on both life writing and fiction, so I've narrowed it down to Lancaster and the OU.

I've already applied to Lancaster and that would be my first choice as it's an established course and seems to be fairly well-regarded, but I'm wondering whether to apply to the OU as well as a back-up. I did my first degree with the OU, so am familiar with set-up, but I was just wondering if anybody knew anything about the course and whether they would recommend it or not?

FleshEmoji Fri 24-Feb-17 06:16:49

I was wondering about doing this too. Watching the thread with interest.

littleoldladywho Fri 24-Feb-17 06:20:02

Oo! I didn't know they were doing one! <shuffles off for a look> I don't know about the distance aspect if I'm honest. Would you not miss out hugely on readings, and whatnot? <your own, as well as everyone else's> At our place the creative writing students are always off hobnobbing with the guest authors. Are you intending to supplement that side of things with local writing groups? Are you in a city to be able to get to readings?

AristotlesTrousers Fri 24-Feb-17 06:32:34

Oh good, not just me then. smile

I'm hoping to attend a few things locally, littleoldlady. I live near a city where there are often literary events on and near a main line to London. I'm hoping there will be a few members on the course (If I were to apply and get on it anyway) to do stuff like that with, but I'd happily go alone. Tbh, if there was a course near me that was suitable I would probably do it in person, but I do quite like distance learning and I guess they have VLEs and stuff (though not quite the same, I know).