Talk

Advanced search

Submitting to agents

(11 Posts)
Willowwriter79 Fri 10-Feb-17 15:09:40

Hi everyone

I'm new to mumsnet, and new to publishing/ trying to get an agent. I'm looking for some advice about submitting to agents. I paid for an editorial report from the writers workshop. The editor told me that she really liked my book and felt it had potential so she recommended that I send it to someone at the writers workshop to see if they could help me find an agent. So, after making some amendments as suggested by the editor, I sent it off to the person she'd suggested. That was almost 4 weeks ago. She initially responded the next day to say that she'd received my MS and couldn't wait to get stuck in, but I've heard nothing since. Has anyone had any experience similar to this. I'm wondering whether to start approaching agents myself, or wait from further feedback from the writers workshop person?
Thanks

GetAHaircutCarl Sat 11-Feb-17 08:25:50

First, id say anything less than six weeks is perfectly normal in terms of not hearing back. Longer than that and I'd politely chase.

Second, I wouldn't limit yourself to this agent just because someone set up the contact for you. Fine, if it's your dream agent anyway, but otherwise you're not wedded to them.

Ask yourself if you could have anyone, who would it be. Make a list of five. Is this agent on that list? If so, maybe wait another two weeks. If not, sub to your top five.

BTW, this advice is full of hindsight grin. Many years ago I subbed to agents in alphabetical order for the WYB.

OnTheRise Sat 11-Feb-17 08:36:22

First thing to do is revise the book as well as you can (if you haven't done so already), and make it the very best that it can be.