Talk

Advanced search

How do you deal with confidence issues?

(12 Posts)
ishallconquerthat Mon 18-Jul-16 12:30:11

The first version of my first book is almost ready. I'm just polishing chapter by chapter so I can send it to my first beta reader.

And then...

I've put a lot of effort, energy and time in this book, and I have some expectations. (I'm a journalist, which means I'm a professional writer - but not a professional novel writer - yet! ;)

I know it's not BAD - but I don't know if it'as any good either.

It's fantasy, YA but more geeky (imagine a mythical creature who earns his living as a hacker, meeting a geeky musician girl, and her musician boyfriend...).

So I start thinking it won't find it's niche (because it's not obviously YA, or obviously fantasy, or obviously romance - it's just something I would have liked to read when I was about 17).

It's not in English, so it's initially aimed at a different market in a different country - smaller market, but with fewer good writers than here.

I'm also terrified that people will read though the book and see myself in it, and I'll feel exposed.

Please, how do you deal with all this?

I'm trying to just ignore all that and finish the thing, and think about the problems as they arise. (I plan to offer it to publishing houses first, and if it doesn't work I may self publish).

I'm sure you people will have strategies and tips for me at this point. Any tips on what to do next, or how to deal with these feelings?

(or some hand holding?)

Thanks a lot!

Madhairday Mon 18-Jul-16 18:01:12

I think that novel writing often necessitates a certain amount of soul-baring to the world. It can be an incredibly vulnerable thing, to write this thing then ask others to read it, knowing they'll be reading you, kind of - your deepest thoughts, hopes, ideas, dreams will all come out. And that's great - that's how great fiction gets written. But I really get you; this is a hard thing to do!