Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

If you like to read...

(9 Posts)
macnab Sat 03-Dec-16 21:04:33

Bit random but I've only recently discovered Donal Ryan and I devoured "The Spinning Heart" and "All we shall know" in the last week. If you enjoy a good book and are Irish (or "get" Irish dialect etc) then I can thoroughly recommend
<I realise I'm late to the party and most people have probably already read them!>

mineallmine Sun 04-Dec-16 02:01:35

We read both of these in our book club and one of the things we said was that if you weren't Irish, you really wouldn't be able to understand his books. I really enjoyed them.
Another recent read that I loved was Nora Webster.

macnab Sun 04-Dec-16 12:54:57

Oh I must look her up, thanks.

No I can't imagine "getting" Donal Ryan's books if you're not Irish!

Rachel0Greep Sun 04-Dec-16 18:23:55

Currently reading The Herbalist, absolutely love it.

MsHaveNaiceHam Tue 06-Dec-16 14:27:04

A Slanting of the Sun

My first introduction to Donal Ryan.
Beautiful writing....I don't know about it being for an Irish only audience.

Yes, his use of the vernacular is very distinct and a lot of his phrases are midlands/south west.

But the topics dealt with- isolation, loneliness, sorry, empathy, violence etc should be identifiable to everyone.

I really like his writing- I find him very empathetic to people and their weaknesses.

Rachel0Greep Tue 06-Dec-16 15:42:24

I have one of his books in my 'pile to be read' for ages. Must definitely read it now.

Hardshoulder Wed 14-Dec-16 10:30:04

Nora Webster isn't an author, macnab, but the title of a novel by Colm Toibin. Who is, IMO, a far better novelist than Donal Ryan. I think CT has a new one out in the spring, also, for any passing fans.

SaoirseLikeInertia Mon 02-Jan-17 23:09:51

I read The Spinning Heart as a result of reading this thread. I really enjoyed it, thanks for the heads up.

Carriemac Wed 04-Jan-17 09:51:53

the early Colin Tobin stuff is beautiful

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now