Talk

Advanced search

Hospitality workers do you think July is optimistic for reopening?

(23 Posts)
whatisforteamum Fri 15-May-20 21:35:11

I know hospitality is a very broad term and covers outdoor cafes and not just pubs.In my heart and from all that has been said before I would be surprised if pubs open before late august,september.Also as a chef I am apprehensive regarding social distancing.
What do other pub mangers and workers think.

Cabinfever10 Fri 15-May-20 21:41:48

I manage a restaurant (part of a large chain) head office is talking about hopefully partially opening for Christmas shock.
I hope that they are wrong however I can't see enough people wanting to go out for a meal in a restaurant to make it financially viable to open before then

avocadont Fri 15-May-20 21:44:58

July is definitely optimistic, but I don't think they'll leave it until much after that.

MarcelineMissouri Fri 15-May-20 21:45:58

Not hospitality but cinema which is also included in phase 3..... they are currently working towards 4th July and hoping for the best but personally I think it seems unlikely. Maybe August if we’re lucky?

I realise it’s slightly different to restaurants as it’s probably easier to implement social distancing and cinemas do not rely on such high levels of attendance as restaurants but thought I’d comment anyway as it’s the same phase.

@cabinfever we love eating out and will be returning to restaurants as soon as they open (assuming we haven’t lost our jobs in the meantime...) I don’t think I’m the only person who feels like that x

Sparklingbrook Fri 15-May-20 21:48:54

It's difficult because although they may be given the go ahead to reopen will anyone want to go? There will be many people not wanting to go out for anything not essential, and then some who won't have the funds to do it.
Plus with social distancing still presumably a thing that's some tables removed, will there be enough to make it worthwhile money wise.