Talk

Advanced search

Off Pill after 9 years and Periods are AWOL

(11 Posts)
KikidooNI Mon 03-Aug-09 16:44:01

Hey all,

I'm new to MN, it looks great and i'm hoping to get some advice from like-minded ladies!

I'm married a year now and my DH and I decided it was time to start TTC.

I came off the Pill at the end of April (so 3 months ago), though AF has not returned at all, and unfortunately I'm not pregnant as I've checked!

I was on Microgynon 30 for over 9 years so have no idea about actual length of cycle etc ATM. Wish AF would return so at least I now we're in with a shot!

Has anyone encountered similar problems? If so how long did it take your period to return?

I'm 27, fit, healthy and my mum didn't have any trouble conceiving, although she was of the era which didn't mess with their body with the Pill and the like!

DLI Mon 03-Aug-09 18:34:48

hi, i was in a similar position and it took about 5 months to get pregnant.

KikidooNI Tue 04-Aug-09 11:49:43

Thanks for that! How long did it take for your periods to return?

Hollyoaks Tue 04-Aug-09 11:53:25

Hi kiki, I was on Microgynon for 8 years and it took 6 months to get af back but then pg within that first month. Had loads of pg-type symptoms during that time too and did endless tests. Sorry its not great news but there is an end to it and its really common (as I found out via internet forums after I came off the pill).

Nobody tells you that before you start to take it and I wont be going back on it any time soon.

KikidooNI Tue 04-Aug-09 15:01:13

Really, no that's great news, especially as you were able to get pg quickly once it did return! I'm thinking the same as you though, there's no way i'm going back on it in between dc! Thanks!

Hollyoaks Tue 04-Aug-09 15:58:44

No bother Kiki, good luck in the mean time. If you cant resist testing invest in some pg tests off of the internet (just the wee sticks) as they are so much cheaper than standard over the counter tests. grin