Talk

Advanced search

I am very ready for a baby, my partner isn’t!

(6 Posts)
JRC93 Sun 26-Apr-20 15:36:10

I am new to this so sorry if I ramble!

I am 27 years old and my partner is 31. We have been together 4 years in June and we live together. Both have good jobs and are in a very financially stable position. We have currently have his mother living with us as we have been completely gutting and renovating her house (which has lasted 3 years but that’s a whole other story! blush). Her house is about 4-5 weeks off of being completed and I feel that is the only obstacle that we can say complicates our life at the moment.

When we first got together I made it know I want a family and it’s all I have ever wanted and for me I wanted this by 26 ( my mum died when I was 26 and for some weird reason this is my benchmark of things I wanted to achieve by then as it made me think how short life can be!). I have spoken about it and checked in throughout the last 2/2.5 years of our relationship to see where he is at and he hasn’t been able to tell me a timeframe or a reason why.

I am at the point when it’s all I can think about, I get a bit teary a couple of times a day about it (I think this whole isolation thing is making it worse as it has made the hole in my life I have tried to cover more visible and also watching everyone else enjoying family time!). I struggle to talk to my family about it as they are gossip central and they will make my partner out to be a bad person and my friends don’t understand.

I am at a cross road now where if I stay in this relationship, I am unhappy and don’t know when I will be able to fill this hole in my life but if I leave I have lost the person I envisaged spending the rest of my life with and also I do not know if I will find someone who I want to start a family with!

Has anyone been through this or has anyone got any advice for this situation as it is consuming my mind constantly!

Thanks in advance! smile

OP’s posts: |