Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Avoiding a Clanger - how to help a friend going through IVF?

(10 Posts)
VengefulSquirrel Thu 23-Aug-07 18:16:57

My best, best friend in all the world is going through a difficult cycle of IVF (ony 1 egg retrieved today...). How can I best support her? The problem is that I have 2 dc, and dd is only 5 months old. I don't want to sound smug, conceited, or drop a clanger at what is an unimaginably difficult time for her. I love her dearly and worry every time we speak that every word that comes out of my mouth is going to offend her.

We are in daily contact and I just don't know what to say...just got the news that only one egg was retrieved today.

nomoremagnolia Thu 23-Aug-07 18:22:45

Be honest with her that you are nervous of upsetting her, then she'll hopefully understand your intentions even if you do upset her (and she might be more comfortable telling you that you've upset her too). It's a real minefield - I have no experience of IVF (hopefully someone who has will be able to give you an insight into it), but I had a heart to heart with my Mum last week as she's stopped asking me about ttc because she thought it would upset me (we've been ttc for 21 months) but actually I wanted to talk toher about it and thought she wasn't interested. Honesty is the best policy - and bless you for being such a lovely friend to her

Budababe Thu 23-Aug-07 18:23:04

You are a nice friend.

I know just how she feels. I went through one (cancelled) attempt last sept where only one egg was retrieved and then a proper go but again with only one egg. Unfortunately in my case it didn't work.

I found friends that treated me like I was ill made it all worse. Those who were cheerfully but cautiously optimistic were helpful.

VengefulSquirrel Thu 23-Aug-07 19:10:42