Talk

Advanced search

A question about pregnancy tests

(10 Posts)
ShakeysGirl Mon 30-Jul-07 16:03:18

Im new to mumsnet and wondered if anyone had any advice for me please.

A week ago on friday I did a pregnancy test (Superdrugs own brand) we are trying for a baby but I didnt feel pregnant I only did the test because I was in bed with a stomach bug and if theres a test in the house I just cant resist weeing on it!It appeared to be negative and I just left it on the side in the bedroom and went back to sleep. When I looked at it in the evening - a good few hours later, it was positive.

I bought some more tests the next day, and over the course of the week did them.

2 cheap £1.50 ones from wilkinsons came up negative.

There were faint lines on some superdrug ones. And faint lines on 2 clear blue ones. But these didnt come up within the allotted times.

I went to the doctors on thursday and she decided to send off for a test, the results were due today but I was late in calling them and they wouldnt tell me them.

Yesterday I did a superdrug test in the morning which was negative until the eveining and had turned into a dark positive. Again not within the allotted times though. And 2 negative superdrug ones.

Ive had sore boobs but I think my mind might be making that happen. My heads all over the place and I dont know what to think.

Any help?

Peachy Mon 30-Jul-07 16:05:49

No idea but active convo's moving fast today so bumping for you

ShakeysGirl Mon 30-Jul-07 16:06:43

Thank you

WigWamBam Mon 30-Jul-07 16:14:51

It could be an evaporation line, it could just be the way that particular brand of test reacts after a period of time. You can't rely on the tests being accurate once the recommended time for reading them has passed.

Stop buying pregnancy tests now, and wait for the results from the doctor - you will drive yourself demented if you keep taking test after test!

ShakeysGirl Mon 30-Jul-07 16:21:33