Talk

Advanced search

TTC after depo

(22 Posts)
KLNM89 Sat 01-Jun-19 20:31:57

Hi all, I’m new to mumsnet but thought I would join the discussions.

I was on the depo injection for 4 years, understanding that it takes time for everything to go back to normal but we have now decided it’s time to start TTC and start a family. My last injection was January so it ran out at the start of April.

I’m experiencing a lot of symptoms of my periods returning (cramps, tender breasts, various discharge) but no AF yet.

Just looking for some words of encouragement, advice or experiences of your own.

TIA xx

ps, I was on the depo injection about 10 years ago and came off it for other reasons so I know it’s possible for things to return to normal, I just can’t remember how long it took

Wishtobeamamma Sun 02-Jun-19 06:06:27

Hi! We are in exactly the same boat! Last injection January and stopped taking officially in April! I still haven't had AF however get tummy cramps

KLNM89 Sun 02-Jun-19 20:58:14

Hey! I know everyone is different but it's interesting to hear how quickly, or not, things got going again. I'm very impatient, I've don't think I've ever wanted a period so much in my life lol.

Keep me posted on your journey

Wishtobeamamma Sun 09-Jun-19 12:18:24

10 weeks tomorrow since I didn't take my last shot and still nothing! No AF or anything! Getting frustrated x

Skyla01 Sun 09-Jun-19 12:25:52

I haven't been on depo, but can share my experiences after stopping the pill. For first 2 weeks I had bad stomach cramps, then some nausea for 2 weeks. Then things went quiet, and I finally got first period 8 weeks after stopping the pill. It felt like quite a long wait! The difficulty is that some symptoms (nausea, no AF) are exactly the same as you would expect if pregnant! If you have negative pregnancy tests I'm afraid it's a waiting game for cycles to come back. But hope you don't have too long to wait.

Lexilooo Sun 09-Jun-19 12:43:11