Talk

Advanced search

Girlfriend has missed here period (now on day 50) but still negative tests??

(12 Posts)
Lilkev88 Thu 07-Mar-19 16:58:21

Good afternoon,
I'm very new to this, but basically long story shortish… my partner has missed AF now on day 50 I think. We have done 3 test (urine) and all negative, which breaks our hearts every time as we both want to become parents. The stress of, is it isn't it is unbearable for me so god knows what she's going through.

All I want to know is, is it possible to have multiple negative tests and still be pregnant? Iv been trying to get her to go to the drs but I think the stress or disappointment of possible finding out its a NO is hard to take so think she may be putting it off.
Any help would be much appreciated.

loveskaka Thu 07-Mar-19 17:11:40

If her AL is usually quite consistent then she should really go to the doctors, she may well be pregnant and her levels aren't strong enough which would be concerning.

Tomtontom Thu 07-Mar-19 17:16:35

How old is your girlfriend, is she normally regular?

Does she have any symptoms at all?

crazychemist Thu 07-Mar-19 19:34:56

A doctor will just do an over the counter test, no better than what you have already taken at home. Missing one period is not all that unusual, particularly when you are stressed.

Try not to think about it if that’s at all possible. Wait a week, and then test again. But a doctor won’t be able to do anything unless there is more to this that just a missed period. Tests are pretty good, so a negative test almost always means no pregnancy.

You sound like you are trying to conceive. Does she have any idea of it she ovulated this cycle e.g. is she tracking temperature, or using ovulation prediction kits to track LH levels? A period normally turns up 2 weeks after ovulation, but many things can delay ovulation e.g. stress, diet, illness.

Jasmine1002 Thu 07-Mar-19 20:34:02

Is she having any symptoms?