Talk

Advanced search

Continue trying naturally?

(5 Posts)
Mandymoolovesyou Thu 08-Feb-18 18:15:13

Hi, I’m just looking for a bit of advice pls (this is my first time on any forum).

My DH and I have been TTC for three years. I’m 39 and he is 29. Have done all blood, ultrasound and sperm tests which came back normal.

In aug 2015 my amh was 1.2 and afc was 2 (this was done privately). In nov 2016 my afc was 1 and I was told that DE was really the only option (told by nhs).

In Jan 2018 my amh was 2.2 and afc was 4 but nhs have said my chances of successful ivf using my own eggs is 5%, using donor eggs my chances are 65%.

My DH and I are going to go down the DE route BUT we actually got pregnant last month. Miscarried at 5 weeks so v early on but we still got pregnant. I am wondering if this is anything to do with acupuncture, moxibustion and fertility massage I’ve been having since November.

My question is should we keep trying naturally or push on with DE. We only have nhs funding until the end of the year.

Has anyone else been in same situation?

mommybear1 Thu 08-Feb-18 18:43:11

Can you do both? I'd keep trying until your ivf cycle? I was 38 when I got pregnant and 39 when I had my pfb I had three miscarriages and two failed ivfs it was all put down to my eggs. We were advised to try the DE route but I wanted to be sure beforehand. I had a second opinion (taking all my notes to them in advance) they recommended a new drugs regime pre ivf and said my chances were considerably higher than I had been told. I had the second opinion in January 2017 and was due to start the ivf with the new clinic in March, during Jan to March I used the new drug regime which included DHEA and fell pregnant naturally a week before we were due to go back for the ivf. I strongly believe the DHEA helped improve my egg quality and got us our longed for baby. Have you read "it starts with an egg" it's worth looking at IMO. Feel free to PM me if you wish. Best of luck! thanks