Talk

Advanced search

To test or not to test-that is the question...

(8 Posts)
Laney79 Fri 27-Oct-17 14:06:05

Hi. Newbie here. Have been on the pill (currently Mercilon) for around 20 years and have just decided to "stop trying not to" have a baby. So finished my last pack, withdrawal bleed as usual 28th sept-2nd oct. I've no idea what my natural cycle is like but I've always had some pre period symptoms (achy boobs, cramping Tum) but nothing at all this month yet. I downloaded a tracker thing and that's now saying I'm a day late...so too early to test? Is my stress/paranoia over am I Preggers or aren't I interfering with my cycle? the tracker has me on tenterhooks, but don't want to test if it's too early for a trustworthy result. Help!

GetBackUpAgain Fri 27-Oct-17 14:25:18

A day after your period due would normally be picked up on a pregnancy test, but after just stopping the pill your cycle is obviously not as easy to track. I can never wait, so always buy really cheap tests as I literally pee’d on a stick every day, from a few days before period due (sometimes more than once😬). I saved my digital/clear blue to confirm a faint line 😁

JoJoSM2 Fri 27-Oct-17 15:21:52

Tbh who know what your body might do after 20 years of the system being shut down? It might take months or even a year for you to have regular cycles. Having said that, it’s possible to become pregnant straight after coming off the pill so you could take a test.

It’d be also useful to try and pinpoint when you ovulate by temping, OPKs, CM etc as that will give you more insight into what’s going on.

BandhaAid Fri 27-Oct-17 15:50:12

It can take a while for your cycles to settle down or for ovulation to even start happening after coming off the pill. It is possible to fall pregnant too, of course, but I agree with the above- try using things to pinpoint ovulation.

Laney79 Fri 27-Oct-17 15:57:21