Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Miscarriage support thread

(6 Posts)
LeannieRVN Wed 05-Jul-17 15:48:44

So, I was part of a couple of conception threads, then excitely graduated to the pregnancy boards a month ago......but now it's all gone wrong, I can't find a miscarriage support thread, apart from the multiple one, and thus is my first. I thought maybe there might be other souls going through this, and we could help each other through this.
My story so far...
I went for an early scan, at exactly 7 weeks 2 days ago. I hadn't had many symptoms but everyone kept telling me I was just 'one of the lucky ones'. I'm a vet nurse and we scan and blood everything at the earliest opportunity (pets get private, gold standard care like people in do in America!). So I couldn't imagine why wouldn't do this for my human pregnancy. hmm
I've also been very anxious because I'm 40, so needed reassurance.
Sadly, the gestational sac measured 4+ weeks, and was empty. The sonographer thought we may have our dates incorrect, but we've not done the deed since our calculated conception date. It was obvious the pregnancy had stopped developing 2.5 weeks ago.
She also found that I have huge fibroids. So large that my uterus looks like I've had multiple pregnancies. It was my first. They've pushed the little sac out of where it should be.
I've been going to the Dr for years about my periods, migraines, anaemia but been fobbed off with blood clotters.
Such a hard pill to swallow, knowing a quick scan could have diagnosed it years ago and my bean may have stuck.
I'm off to the hospital for 2nd bloods to monitor my hcg levels. Obviously I'm expecting then to be dropping. They're also doing another scan tomorrow, to confirm the sad news.
It's such very sad time

LoveRainbow02 Wed 05-Jul-17 15:59:58

So sorry you are going through this 💐. It really is heartbreaking. Just give yourself time to grieve and rest. Although you may not think it now, it will get better in time.