Talk

Advanced search

Any tips when trying to conceive?

(8 Posts)
charley39 Sun 28-May-17 20:45:52

Hi I'm new to all of this and so struggling to understand all the terminology used!
Recently started trying for a baby and I'm very anxious about having the best chance and would welcome any tips you may have!
I have been off of contraception for a few years now as it never agreed with my body but have never had a regular period. Sometimes 5 weeks sometimes up to 6/7 weeks. This is where I'm concerned about trying to plan when I'm ovulating.
Thanks in advance for your advice smile

physicskate Sun 28-May-17 21:38:39

Folic acid. They recommend taking it 3 months before ttc to help prevent neural tube defects.

Hope you don't have to try for long, it often takes longer than people expect... 80% will conceive within a year.

You'll learn fast.

IJustGotHitByADeer Sun 28-May-17 21:48:16

I will be watching this thread with interest as I'll be ttc after I finish uni in 12 days (!!!)

I've heard diet can help prepare your body for pregnancy but I'm not a nutritionist so no idea if it can help with conception.

Hope you get your bfp soon smile

voobylooby Sun 28-May-17 21:53:18

Ovulation tests did the trick for us. The ones that have a flashing smiley face on the best day(s) to do the deed....clear blue?

lilyborderterrier Sun 28-May-17 22:04:07

I used conceive lubricant ( bought off Amazon, boots sell it too) I found I was getting sore doing the deed so much. It did take us 7 months with our 2nd baby.
I used ovulation tests as well. Also took folic acid and ate healthy.

X

charley39 Sun 28-May-17 22:51:33

Started folic acid about 6 weeks ago now! Think I will look into ovulation tests seems to be the way forward! Thanks everyone smile

MaryShelley1818 Mon 29-May-17 15:40:02

Lots and lots of sex!!
Preseed lube and Wellman vitamins for him (healthy sperm production).