Talk

Advanced search

40 and 3 MCs in 6 months

(7 Posts)
VixP Mon 24-Apr-17 13:59:59

Hi all,

I'm new to mumsnet but just here looking for a bit of advice.

I have a gorgeous DD who is 2 years 3 months now. Conceived her first month of trying when I was 37, had her when I was 38. We started trying for no. 2 when I was 39 and DD 18 months. I assumed it would be as easy as before - I could almost cry at my naivity now. I turned 40 and we got pregnant - all seemed OK except I had no MS and had HG with my first. I miscarried at 6w2d. Since then, the pattern has been - wait for one period, try again, pregnant, miscarry. One at 4w, one at 6w3d.

I've read lots of theories as to why this might be, most depressingly (and I understand most likely) old eggs. But there's others: nutrient deficiency, thyroid issues, insufficient hormones at correct times (oestrogen and progesterone), sticky blood, lack of stem cells in the endometrial lining, NK killer cells, unfussy womb theory. I'm not sure how many of these can develop between one pregnancy and another though?

I've been referred to the recurrent miscarriage clinic at Coventry run by Dr. Quenby and Dr. Brosens, both of whom seem to be well regarded. It looked like it could take 22 weeks to be seen on the NHS?! Given I don't fancy sodding around for 22 weeks, I'm going to go private (my lovely Mum & Dad have offered to pay). Does anyone have any experience of the clinic? What tests am I likely to be offered? How long does it take to get seen?

Finally, supplements. I'm on CoQ10, omega 3,6,9, conception multivitamin, extra B complex. From threads it looks like I should also be taking extra folic acid, extra vitamin D, royal jelly, l-arginine? Anything else? Any advice?! Can I take all of these together? Seems like a LOT of supplements.