Talk

Advanced search

When's the best time to get pregnant? Use our interactive ovulation calculator to work out when you're most fertile and most likely to conceive.

Ovulation help

(17 Posts)
Alicejj8x Sun 23-Apr-17 19:15:45

Hello ladies--
I am just wondering if anyone can offer me any advice really

We have been ttc for about 7/8 months now and had a MMC April of last year...
my periods are irregular I get one every 3 months :/
I have had a scan and everything was normal and came back fine. I've had blood tests and my Lh hormone came back slightly raised but the doctors said they wasn't worried about it.
In Feb this year I got prescribed some tablets to 'kick' start my periods and then I got 2 more boxes last month & currently waiting to see if I ovulate. I was meant to ovulate today according to a period app but online it says I will ovulate Thursday... I am worrying as I've been using opks for a few months now and I wouldn't ever say I've ever see a positive ?.. I've had one that's been close but I am really worrying that I am not ovulating because my periods are irregular?..
Can anyone suggest what I should do should I wait for Thursday and see if I ovulate? And then if not call the doctors. As I don't really want to start another box of the tablets to bring on AF if I'm not ovulating?

Popcorn15 Sun 23-Apr-17 20:42:30

Hi Alice

I've recently got the book "Taking Charge of Your Fertility" (search for it on Amazon).
You need to be taking temps & monitoring your cervical fluid to know if you are ovulating as opks can be misleading.

I understand Some of the meds prescribed to kick start periods can actually dry up the cervical fluid so actually does the opposite of what you want - yes the cycle may be more regular but you need fertile wet cervical fluid (EWCM) to achieve the big goal.