Talk

Advanced search

Could I end up pregnant help?

(24 Posts)
Kittykat789 Fri 31-Mar-17 15:09:10

Hello I'm new to mums net not really sure of this is the right place

My cycle use to be 30-31 days but my last 3, cycles have been around 23-25 days so I'm not really sure when I would have ovulated I hadn't really been keeping track as I wasn't planning a baby I have had sex on cycle days 8,9 and 10 and was wondering if this can result to me falling pregnant? At first I thought it couldn't as I had only finished my period but I have read that if you have a shorter cycle there's a chance you can ovulate as early as day 9 and I had unprotected sex then, what I'm basically asking is there a chance I could end up falling pregnant or could it of been far too early in my cycle?

Thingymaboob Fri 31-Mar-17 15:10:59

It's all guess work at this stage but sperm can live for 6 days so it is possible.

UndersecretaryofWhimsy Fri 31-Mar-17 15:13:20

If your cycle is often 23-25 days then it's quite likely the days you mentioned are when you ovulate, so yes, you could definitely become pregnant.

If that's not what you want and the sex was within the last 5 days you could seek out emergency contraception - an emergency IUD can be inserted up to 5 days after unprotected sex if I remember rightly.

Kittykat789 Fri 31-Mar-17 15:16:18

I wasnt planning another baby for a while as I have a 18 month old already, but if I was to fall pregnant I wouldn't mind I just always thought everyone ovulated at day 14 , and didn't realise shorter the cycles the earlier u ovulated thank you for the advice x

TisMeTheLadFromTheBar Fri 31-Mar-17 15:22:19

Hard to say but there's always a chance if you are not using any contraception depending on when your ovulated. If the cervical conditions are right, sperm can live for several days. STDS would also be a concern so you should get tested.

UndersecretaryofWhimsy Fri 31-Mar-17 15:23:38