Talk

Advanced search

Miscarriage misery

(10 Posts)
Thingymaboob Thu 20-Oct-16 19:58:02

I'm currently suffering a mc. I never thought I would feel this bad. I'm a paramedic and I've treated loads of women who have had a mc / suspected ectopic and I've always thought of it in a really practical medical way: it happens to many women, it's very common, many women go on to have healthy babies. Until it happened to me. Have spent the last few days in bed lying in my own filth. Managed to have a bath today as my husband ran it and spent an hour persuading me to get out of bed. I'm drained and feel so miserable.

Dozer Thu 20-Oct-16 19:58:45

Am really sorry. sadflowers

doceodocere Thu 20-Oct-16 20:06:29

It's so horrible, you poor love.

Don't expect too much of yourself, a bath is a great first step. Apply a practical, medical approach to yourself on an hour by hour basis. Drink a lot of fluids, sweet ones if you don't feel like eating. You'll need iron, a fortified drink like ovaltine perhaps? (I can't actually remember if it has iron in it.)Get your partner to pick you up an iron tonic like spatone or floradix. if you do feel like eating, eat what you feel like. Watch some crap on a screen you can put near the bed.
These are all immediate practical things, the emotional fallout goes on for a long time after the physical recovery, be kind to yourself.
You don't say if this was your first baby. I had 4 mc and now have three rambunctious dc, I won't forget the ones I lost but they are a sad memory, but do imagine a happy future for yourself.

Thingymaboob Thu 20-Oct-16 20:24:10