Talk

Advanced search

Age 32, ttc for 6 months and getting worried :(

(31 Posts)
Bellini239 Sun 31-Jan-16 11:18:12

Hi everyone, I'm quite new to mumsnet... I have been ttc for 6 months now and am starting to get down and frustrated about the whole thing. I guess that I never expected it to take this long, possibly very naively, and each month that goes on I do feel concerned that there is something wrong with me. We use ovulation test sticks every month and each time I do get a positive reading, which I guess is a good thing. Does anybody know how long it can take or have any advice? Thanks so much for your time xx

Archduchess Sun 31-Jan-16 12:05:50

Hi Bellini, I am also 32 and have been trying for a year with no joy yet! So I may not be the best person to give advice on success, and I hope it will happen more quickly for you than for me... But it seems to be fairly common for it to take several months, at least. Even if you get to a year, like me, your odds are not that bad (although that's when you should consider getting checked out). The NHS website says that, of 100 women aged 35 to 39 trying to conceive, 82 will conceive within a year, and another 8 within two years. www.nhs.uk/chq/Pages/2295.aspx?CategoryID=54 It doesn't give the odds for our age group. Having gone through lots of angst about it myself, I'd say distract yourself as much as possible and minimise the amount of time you spend thinking about it (eg on Mumsnet, helpful and supportive as it is)... Good luck!

Bellini239 Sun 31-Jan-16 12:33:47