Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Confused! Could do with some help...

(8 Posts)
sophied1983 Fri 16-Oct-15 07:36:57

Hiya

I came off the mini-Pill early May and first AF arrived 6 weeks later.

Next cycle was 45 days and the one after that was 47. I've been plotting it in an app and next AF should be 36 days away.

However, my friend bought me a digital ovulation kit thingy, the Clearblue one with dual hormone indicator.

They advise for long cycles to start testing 20 days before next period is due, but I thought I'd start a couple of days ago just to see what's happening throughout my ridiculously long cycles.

Anyway, this morning - a flashing smiley face came up which means high fertility... why would this be???

Hopingfortwo Fri 16-Oct-15 08:50:42

Hi Sophie,

I'm new to OPK but when the face starts flashing that means your body has started to produce the hormone that prepares your ovaries for ovulation (LH - look this up on google) although I think the instructions covers it.

When the face stops flashing that means your LH is at it's peak and you could ovulate within the next 48 hours - although the test doesn't actually tell you when so women could be ovulating as they see the static face. This is why the day to stop testing after you see the static face and just get to bonking!!!

What I have recently learnt is that women can create LH but the ovary for whatever reason doesn't produce the egg. That's not me trying to scare you, just sharing the knowledge that the OPK is no guarantee.

Wishing you all the very best though!!! Do you look out for cervical mucus? That is also a sign, but again is different for everyone.

Xxx

lilygirl81 Fri 16-Oct-15 09:59:11

I got 9 flashing smilies in a row, so I'd just start dtd every other day or so until you get your solid happy face smile

sophied1983 Fri 16-Oct-15 10:01:25

I'm confused why I'm getting that now though as based on my cycle length, my period isn't due for 36 days?!