Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Should I take Norethisterone?

(5 Posts)
eskimolaura Thu 08-Jan-15 22:27:25

I'm new to all of this and really need some advice, please, if anyone can give it! I took my last packet of contraceptive pills in October (Loestrin 20) and had my withdrawal bleed sometime during November and since then, I've had nothing- no af whatsoever. I'm a worrier and have been on the pill for many years, since I was 17 (I'm now 32) and I have no idea what my 'regular' cycle is, nor if I ever really had one before I went on it.

So last Saturday, I started to get some very mild pains and thought it might be the start of af. I also had some tiny, tiny spots of blood in my knickers, but nothing else came of it. Still feeling a bit 'funny', I thought I may have got a UTI, so I went to the doctors earlier today with a urine sample.

My GP listened to everything, and said that my urine was normal but that he wanted to do some blood tests to check other things. So he has prescribed me Norethisterone and said that it will provoke a bleed after 10 days of taking it three times a day. On the fifth day of the bleed, I have to make an appointment to go in and get some blood tests done. These will hopefully show if certain things are wrong. It may also help to 'kickstart' my monthly cycle, although there is no certainty of this actually happening.

My question is this: Should I take the pills, or wait, possibly in vain for my af to come back. As far as I can tell, I don't have anything to lose by taking it, unless I am already pregnant, as you can't take it if you are, but I have done a few tests and keep getting the bfn, so I don't think I need to worry about that. I kind of want to wait for my body to make its own mind up and start naturally, but I am also worried that it won't, because I can never remember actually having a cycle and have never had a break from the pill during the 15 or more years that I took it.