Talk

Advanced search

Newbie about to start TTC - how to prepare / what about antidepressants?

(3 Posts)
birdbywater Mon 08-Dec-14 14:40:46

Hi all,

I'm totally new to this and haven't yet started TTC #1, but at nearly 31 and with a 37-yr-old DP we've decided 2015 is our year.

I'm not yet 6 months into my new job so am waiting until the new year to come off BC, but I was just wondering if anyone has any tips for ways to start preparing? I've been taking folic acid for 2 years (just in case) and am planning to move to a more comprehensive vitamin package - are there any good ones, on a not-too-big budget? Obviously I'll be cutting down on alcohol and starting to be a little healthier as well - I don't drink caffeine so that's one vice down...

Also, I'm currently on sertraline, which I've been taking for a couple of months. The doctor's recommended taking it for 6 months minimum which would mean we'll start TTC before I come back off it - has anyone else had experience with this antidepressant? Should I put our plans back a little more so I can complete the course and be clear of it before TTC?

I was planning on coming off BC in Jan and then leaving it a couple of months before we really start trying.

Any tips welcome, and sorry for this long message!

Thanks,
BBW

IssMc Mon 08-Dec-14 17:10:18

Hi birdbywater,