Talk

Advanced search

IVF - choosing best option

(4 Posts)
Charlotte321 Sun 18-Nov-12 11:24:43

Hi, I'm having investigations at a hospital I chose because a friend, who had am mc, said they handled it all well so I thought they might be a good option. However I've since been on an IVF hospitals site I found and their IVF success rates don't seem to be that great, below national average. Does anyone know if I can change hospitals if my treatment ends up at IVF stage and could I just bring all my results or would they insist on doing tests all over again? Should I even pay attention to success rates? Thanks, bit stressed about the whole thing, hoping clomid will work if they offer me that, Cx

Whiteshoes Sun 18-Nov-12 17:08:51

Hi Charlotte. Presumably you are hoping to get ivf funded by the nhs? I'm afraid I have no experience of how portable nhs funding is, but you should certainly be at least able to use choose and book for fertility treatments. Speak to your gp about it, I guess.

But on your question about whether success rates matter, yes, they really really do. I am constantly amazed at how intelligent, informed people don't move to the better clinics. There is as much as a 20 percentage point difference in success rates between average clinics and the best ones. (Although there are also clinics who chose their patients to keep their numbers up.)

Are you in london or able to cycle here? For self payers, I would really recommend argc or the lister. Otherwise, well worth checking the stats and asking around before you do ivf.

SinkyGoodenplenty Sun 18-Nov-12 18:48:16

Ok. Quick reply because I'm on holiday, but think I can help. Please excuse the bullet points!

1) your nhs funding is "your" funding. You can apply to your health authority to change sites. This will not affect your allowance (ie moving to a region that offers 3 cycles will not give you 3 if your home region dosent)