Talk

Advanced search

Any chance this month....and men...!

(18 Posts)
Scraggyanna Mon 22-Oct-12 13:02:26

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to TTC so was wondering if anyone could share your expertise with me...

I got a smile on a CB test (not CBFM) on 18th October, which I understand signifies the LH surge which precedes OV by 24-36 hours. So, I'm assuming OV on 19/20th. We had sex on 15th, 18th and 21st. Do any of these dates look to be in with a chance? Also, how do I work out how many DPO I am when I'm not exactly sure when I ovulated?

Also, my husband is desperate for a baby, but doesn't seem to understand that you need to put the work in. He's gutted every month when I'm not pregnant, but doesn't seem to want to play the 'every other day' game. Any advice?

Thanks.

Tabbytiger Mon 22-Oct-12 13:33:02

Hello,

Yes - there's a good chance. All those dates are possible. Sperm can survive for 5 days if conditions are right (i.e. you're about to ovulate/have just ovulated) - so any of those times could do it. You won't know exactly when you ovulate unless you get ovulation pains (which are quite unusual). The egg survives for 12-24 hours after ovulation, I think... If you ovulated on the 20th, the 21st would be a possible bingo date. The 15th and 18th sound even better as the sperm could well have been hanging around in the fallopian tubes waiting to fertilise an egg.

Continuing to use ov predictor kits are probably your best bet then if your husband doesn't want to play the every other day game. Maybe try to do them secretly then be amorous on the day/days you get happy faces - or if your cycle is regular, the days around your ovulation date!

However, I think even if you "do it" on the "right" days you still only have a 20% chance of getting pregnant that month so give it time...

Good luck!

wifey6 Mon 22-Oct-12 16:25:17

Watching with interest OP as I am wondering the same! Dtd cycle days 7 11 13 16 18 & had positive OPKs days 16 & 17.