Talk

Advanced search

BBT - Temperature issues!

(13 Posts)
Loubydoo Mon 24-Sep-12 12:34:19

Hi. I hope you can help. I've just started taking my bbt each day with a thermometer. Each day it’s between 36.28 and 36.48. I’m on CD 17 of a very regular 28 day cycle. I’m a bit concerned that I haven’t seen any significant rise (except for the last 2 days of my period). I did a bit of googling (always dodgy, I know!) and it seems to be that there HAS to be a temp rise but I haven’t had one. I’m using an oral thermometer and yesterday as a test I took my temp in bed as usual when I woke up at about 7 and it was 36.27, then dozed off and took it again about half an hour later (still hadn’t got up and boyf is away so was on my own) and it was then 36.48. Can anyone help?
Thank you!

redstrawberry Mon 24-Sep-12 12:56:29

Hi I am new to charting so hoping someone wiser will be along.

But I did read that the best time to take your temperature is when you are half asleep - groggy from sleep. I am not sure you will get accurate reading with the sleeping and doing it half hour later. In any case they recommend at least 3 hours of solid sleep.

My temperature has done a weird drop at 14dpo so I am trying to google and figure out if its the weather going chilly or whether its AF on its way. I think I am starting to come to the conclusion that BBT is very unreliable.

If you are trying to detect Ovulation, I would recommend using OPKs along with BBT.

FrankelSaysRelax Mon 24-Sep-12 20:11:41

Are you using a proper BBT thermometer?

Yes you do need to see an upwards shift to confirm ov, but it is not always large. My temp shift is usually about 0.5 degrees. You need to take the first reading on waking as the one to chart, if you pick and choose which ones you chart you won't get a true reading.