Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing clothes and shoes. If you want to buy or sell them, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards for Adults or Children.

Kiddie clothes on sale - smaller sizes more expensive?

(7 Posts)
AuntieMee Fri 06-Oct-17 23:08:06

Evening all smile

I'm a newbie and this is my first post. No worries if you're too shattered/busy to answer this or if you just find it a bit pathetic that I even cared about this wee "injustice" but I was just curious to know if it had happened to anyone else?

I'm a besotted Auntie and part-time sale hound. Recently I hit the M&S sale - v. chuffed to find a 3 piece Minions swim set age 5-6 reduced from £20 to £6. Then in another branch I nabbed the exact same set age 3-4 only this time it was priced at £12.

I queried this with the lovely lady on the till and she looked it up online, where it was sold out, with sale prices running from £6-12 (age range starting at 3-4).

Now I'm well aware that one of the sucky things about shopping for little'uns is that the shops increase the prices for larger sizes shock. However, in this case, M&S priced the smaller set at double the price of the bigger set.

And this is the point where I have to apologise to anyone who was standing in the queue behind me. Because this is when the lady at the till called her manager over for a second opinion and I'm pretty sure I heard the folks behind me dying inside as I became 'that girl'. The one who, while friendly and polite, nevertheless made an uncomfortably long queue even longer. blush

Turns out the Till Manager wouldn't honour the cheaper price, explaining that sometimes different factory batches are priced differently!!?? She said that although the sets were identical, the 3-4 set could have been from a more recently produced factory batch and would therefore be more expensive (an argument that I could totally understand, if we were talking about fresh milk and not a rash vest!? hmm