Talk

Advanced search

The Mumsnet house swaps topic is intended for Mumsnet members who want to organise house swaps with other members. It's not for individuals or companies to advertise house swaps or holiday lets.

Devon in the school holidays anyone?

(22 Posts)
Kendodd Wed 18-May-11 15:17:57

We have a farmhouse style house in the middle of a very nice Devon village. The house has five bedrooms, three bathrooms (two ensuite) living room, dining room, kitchen, utility, study/playroom and garden with lovely view. The house is about 300 years old and is next to a small river and overlooks countryside. We have three pre school children and so lots of toys.

Location is about 35 minutes from the East Devon coast at Sidmouth and a little further to Exmoor. Nearest city is Exeter about 25 minutes away.

I don't mind what your house looks like, location is more important.

ItsMyTurn Wed 18-May-11 22:26:22

what about you spending a week in Worthing (20 mins from Brighton) you can feed our cats and go to the seaside smile

ItsMyTurn Wed 18-May-11 22:26:44

btw - it is a four bedroom house with toys galore!!

Artichokes Wed 18-May-11 22:33:39

I'd love to so a swap. What village are you in? Our house is in London, Shepherds Bush/Hammersmith/Chiswick borders. Five mins walk from Stamford Brook Tube (District Line), 10 mins from Goldhawk Road Tube (Hammersmith & City Line). Two min walk from the lovely Ravenscourt Park (3 playgrounds and a paddling pool). 20 mins walk or 5 mins on the bus to Westfield. Loads of lovely cages and shops nearby.

We have 4 beds, off street parking and a 70ft west facing garden.

Can we tempt you to London?

Artichokes Wed 18-May-11 22:34:26

Hmm. Near lovely cafes, not cages.

ItsMyTurn Thu 19-May-11 07:14:35

the cages sounded quite fun! good for the children grin. Thansk but we have just moved from London! Hope you find someone else soon smile

ItsMyTurn Thu 19-May-11 07:24:16

oh just realised you are another bidder ARtichokes! blush - I need to get my head on before I post grin. I remember you from my threads in teh past I think.

Kendodd Thu 19-May-11 09:16:44

Worthing sounds good.

We go to London every year and have somewhere to stay there so thanks anyway Artichokes.

Now for all the bad bits though, we have been doing the house up and have run out of money (hence wanting to house swap) the carpets really need replacing and we don't have the money to do it. We could really do with a new kitchen as well. The river is fenced off though so the garden is safe. Now for the worst bit off all, we have a dog that we would like to leave at home (or take with us) she is very very friendly but a bit bouncy and will steal anything and is always trying to escape so you have to be careful coming in and out.

Anyone left at all who might still be interested?

ItsMyTurn Thu 19-May-11 17:41:18

none of that would put me off personally but my ds is a bit scared of big bouncy dogs! Will stay on this thread though as my friend and I ahve 4 dc's between us and were looking for a cheapie holiday in Devon. Will let her know if that is OK. We have three cats to feed to!

Kendodd Thu 19-May-11 19:08:54

The dog could go and stay with a friend (maybe) if need be, she's only a Jack Russell though so not big, just very bouncy. We couldn't take her with us if you have cats though, she'd go mad!

We have two bedrooms with double beds in, both en-suite, one room with two toddler beds and two bedrooms with a single bed in each plus the family bathroom, so we could accommodate quite a lot of people. We are in the middle of the village but still have countryside views at the back of the house. The village has a pub, shop, church and village hall that often has things on, you really need a car to get here though and to get around.

ItsMyTurn Thu 19-May-11 19:56:03

it does sound very lovely kendodd. J\ack Russell is very manageable for us - youngest children are 4 . I am speaking to my friend tomoz so can get back to you then. She lives in Eastbourne so take your pick! her house is slightly smaller wiht only three bedrooms and she doesn't live near beach or town

Kendodd Fri 20-May-11 11:13:55

Oh one thing though, we don't smoke and don't want a smokers house, or smoking in our house. I don't think anyone smokes any more anyway but just thought I'd check.

ItsMyTurn Fri 20-May-11 16:02:46

no smokers here - though my 4yo ds still chews tobacco grin

Kendodd Tue 24-May-11 14:41:58

What shall we do now then, do you want to PM me itsmyturn?

We could go for another few days somewhere else if anyone else has somewhere interesting? Devon is lovely and some time up north (or anywhere) would be nice for us.

MogTheForgetfulCat Sat 28-May-11 20:55:41

Hi there, would you be interested in coming to Bath? We have 3-bed terraced house and 3 DSs (5, 3 and 0.3), so plenty of pre-school toys/equipment. They love dogs, so would be v happy to look after yours! We used to have our own dog, so used to dealing with them and could cope with potential escapologist. Lots of lovely things to do round here - really nice local parks/playgrounds, lots of NT and similar, loads of nice attractions. Let me know if you'd be interested!

Kendodd Sun 29-May-11 21:52:25

Hi Mog,

Bath is quite close so what about a weekend sometime? Could we bring our dog with us?

MogTheForgetfulCat Mon 30-May-11 22:10:08

Yep, that would be good - maybe a long weekend? Dog v welcome! Any idea when you might want to swap? We don't have firm plans for the summer holidays, so can be pretty flexible.

frannyBu Tue 31-May-11 19:43:56

Hey Artichokes, we are looking to visit London in July although only for 4 days. Would you fancy a swap to a seaside cottage in Scotland? We arrive on the Sleeper on Sat 16th July and leave Wed 20th July. You can see photos of our house on www.heraldscotland.com/arts-ents/stage-visual-arts/home-is-where-the-art-is-1.1077215 and this is a photo of our view from the front door - www.flickr.com/photos/40139809@N00/2369731232/ . Let me know if this would be of any interest smile Thanks.

Kendodd Sat 04-Jun-11 22:35:27

Hi Mog,

DH doesn't fancy Bath, sorry. If you really want to come to Devon though we could possibly put you up for a weekend, it's just that we would be there as well! We are members of a website called couchsurfing so sometimes up random strangers up in our house for a night or two.

RosemaryandThyme Wed 08-Jun-11 18:02:15

Might you like to come to Hamshire ?
Village house, 10 min drive to Andover.
Fields, woodland walks, Farm Park, - we have 3 little ones too.
We don't have any pets but you'd be welcome to bring your dog.

Geordieminx Fri 17-Jun-11 15:53:29

I have a 3 bed detached 15 mins from Glasgow, 45 mins from Edinburgh and Loch Lomond if anyone is interested?

Kendodd - which is your nearest airport? Cornwall seems a very long way away :-)

MogTheForgetfulCat Sat 18-Jun-11 20:31:16

No worries, Kendodd smile.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now