Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Glue ear possibility?

(11 Posts)
pucca Tue 29-Sep-09 18:48:21

Ds (3yo) has had a hearing test today, from what i could tell he couldn't hear anything below 50 (what ever that means) and when they looked in his ears and did that air test they said he had a good example of glue ear...

I have no knowledge of this really....he does have a slight cold at moment so they want to see him in 8 weeks time...he does seem to be almost constantly congested though and he is currently having speech therapy as his speech is not very clear at all..

Any advice would be appreciated. smile

pucca Tue 29-Sep-09 19:03:05

bump

Mermaidspam Tue 29-Sep-09 19:27:37

My dd (7) has glue ear and now has hearing aids (she didn't want grommets). It is entirely possible for it to clear up on it's own and he'll be fine. We've been told that dd's should clear at about age 8-9.
What kind of advice do you need?

pucca Wed 30-Sep-09 07:08:21

Thanks Mermaidspam....It was just really to find out a little more info on the subject....

How bad can the hearing be in a child with glue ear? As i have since found out that ds being unable to hear under 50 decibels is classed as moderate hearing loss.

Now he has had this hearing test everything kind of makes sense. Ds shouts everything, his speech is delayed and his word sounds are very poor. He says "Whats that noise?" alot which i never thought of till now, but it has been clear sounds (to me) such as a lawnmower or hammer on next doors wall, now i am thinking if his hearing is affected to a moderate level then the sound make not sound like what it is...i.e it will sound muffled.