Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Parents of toddler girls, I have a hideously embarrassing question to ask you about little girls bits.

(13 Posts)
deeplyembarrassed Tue 22-Sep-09 18:33:33

I have wondered for a while now whether to ask this, but after not being able to ask anyone in real life, and knowing that I really ought to put my mind at rest I felt that I should ask. Please don't flame me, or think I am wierd, I am genuinely concerned.

I have recently looked after my friend's little girl who is a similar age to my little girl (2 years old). We see them regularly and all get on very well. They are a "normal" middle class family and the child goes to a childminder each day as mother works.

So, I had sole care of the child recently and had to change a very messy nappy. I was surprised to notice that the little girl had a noticable vagina, with the hole being slightly open. (so sorry, am cringing writing this). Obviously all little girls have them, but my dd's is hardly noticable and certainly not open in anyway.

why would this be? is it anything to be concerned about? or is is just a case of everyone is different, and they come in all sorts of shapes and sizes and some are more "open" than others?

blush blush blush

TIA

Jujubean77 Tue 22-Sep-09 18:36:39

I think they vary just as adults to - come in all shapes and sizes. Did she seem sore or in pain when you changed her? What was your worry?

Beachcomber Tue 22-Sep-09 18:37:09

'tis normal, IMO, they come in all shapes and sizes (I have 2 young DDs).

BroccoliSpears Tue 22-Sep-09 18:39:09

Sounds like a normal middle class vagina to me.

FlyMeToDunoon Tue 22-Sep-09 18:40:33

Can't remember the other two but DD3's is open slightly.
Normal.

lou031205 Tue 22-Sep-09 19:03:56