Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

DS (4.5) recently circumcised. Still won't wear pants! Advice please..

(6 Posts)
BootleBumtrinket Tue 18-Aug-09 10:51:27

DS was circumcised for medical reasons 4 days ago. The foreskin was adhered to the glans so had to be dissected off and he is left with a glans that was half skinned IYSWIM.

He is being dosed up with calpol and nurofen regularly and is healing well. The stitches look great, the swelling is gone but the glans is still very red and a bit oozy in the morning (wears pull up pants at night that don't help I guess) although I think it is healing ok (I have some medical background). We have to put anti-b cream on the area which makes him hysterical and he needs a lot of persuasion to have a warm bath to wash the area. I think the fear of anything touching the area is bigger than the pain now and he refuses to put pants on. He even admits that taking off his pull up pants and having the cream put on doesn't hurt anymore but is still freaking out and running away crying.

Should I push this issue or just let him run around in the house and garden with nothing on (as he is doing) until he is happy to put some on? DH says (he was done as a young adult) that it will feel strange even when healed when he wears pants as that area has never been touched. We are all going a bit crazy at home (he is a very boisterous kid) and I would love to go to the park or something.

Has anyone got advice about this? How long did your boy take to calm down and wear pants/go out?

TIA

leisurely Wed 19-Aug-09 21:01:38