Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Update on dd3 mangled hand

(29 Posts)
misdee Mon 01-Sep-08 21:11:35

well we got to the hospital for 8am as instructed. dd3 was first on the list and should've been done at around 9.30am. but an emergency came in so she was finally in theatre just after 1pm. which was a pain as trying to stop a 3year old from drinking for that long is a nightmare.

her fingers have been cleaned up, nail beds repairs and nails put back in to act as splints (thats what i make of it anyway, not being a plastic surgeon myself). she has to go back to plastic surgeons next week for re-dressing and to check her fingers are healing ok.

she is also on a weeks course of anti biotics as she has 'open fractures' on her two fingers.

all this because she had her hand slammed in a door (nobodys fault, was kids being kids and an accident). i am now thinking those plastic concertina things that shops have on their doors (hinges side) should be marketed for home use. especially as the nurse said they have so many of these sorts of injuries coming in to be repaired.

omg misdee-wtf happened??shock have missed this!!!

BoredyHouse Mon 01-Sep-08 21:12:56

Oh bloddy Hell that sounds awful shock Hope she heals quickly!

Marina Mon 01-Sep-08 21:13:31

shock ouch Misdee, had no idea this had happened. That sounds agonising and gory. Sorry to hear about her accident.

misdee Mon 01-Sep-08 21:14:48

thanks. she is doing well. but is dosed on painkillers still. she liked her 'butterfly' (canula) which the docs fed mil kto which made her fall asleep. she had a GA in the end, which was horrible to see, but she bounced back fine.

tissy Mon 01-Sep-08 21:17:38

misdee, children's fingertips heal fine, they're almost miraculous in their ability to recover. She'll be better in no time.