Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Cold/stomach bug/rash?

(15 Posts)
Nogodsnomasters Sun 11-Mar-18 08:16:41

Hi all, this is my first time posting on mumsnets but I've been reading threads for 3 years since I had my son. Anyway last weekend he started with a regular cold no fever, on Monday his cheeks started to look red/flushed, on Tues night he threw up about 4 times in a row. By Wednesday he was back to his usual self but I kept him off nursery of course and stuck to plain foods. Wednesday night a mild rash started on his tummy (pink n spotty, blanched). On Saturday (yday) my husband called me at work to say lb had thrown up again out of nowhere and that his rash looked worse, more red than pink and had spread all over chest as well as tummy. As soon as I got out of work I took him to ooh docs (am in n.ireland) and they said they think it's a viral rash with head cold and the phlegm is causing the vomiting since the vomit was 4 days apart! 5am this morning lb woke with explosive diarrhea and has had 2 bouts of it this morning, no way its excess phlegm from a head cold causing this! Anyones kids had anything similar to this with the throwing up so far apart and diarrhea starting quite late into the virus (5 days)? I'm quite worried as he's had bugs before but they've always been over within 24-48hrs, thanks.

dementedpixie Sun 11-Mar-18 09:21:24

Sounds a bit like slapped cheek syndrome

Nogodsnomasters Sun 11-Mar-18 09:38:12

Hi thanks for replying, that's what I was wondering too but doc said his cheeks weren't red enough! He's quite a pale child naturally (red head dad/gran) so to me it's easy to see the red cheeks. Does it normally come with no fever and vomiting/diarrhea do u know? Thanks again for replying.

flumpybear Sun 11-Mar-18 10:04:01