Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

My child has developed a vocal tic, I am really worried

(21 Posts)
JellyBellies Sun 11-Feb-18 08:25:32

Hi,
DS1, who us 8 has suddenly developed a vocal tic. He has to make a squeaking noise in this throat. He says it started on Wednesday. It was in full force by yesterday evening. He struggled to sleep last night and fell asleep crying because of it.

I am seriously scared. What do I do? I can take him to the gp tomorrow but will they be able to help him?

LuxuryMilk Sun 11-Feb-18 08:30:37

I’m no expert but I wouldn’t panic. I’d try and stay fairly calm about it in front of him and not react every time he does it. I’d also look at subtly distracting him when it starts up. See if you can get him to focus on something else.

Lots of love and reassurance for him too obviously.

Imfinehowareyou Sun 11-Feb-18 08:40:04

Don't try to make him stop. He can't stop it and it will stress him out. You have to try your hardest to ignore it. My eldest DC suffers and it comes and goes. It is bloody hard to ignore and is frustrating for everyone so I feel for you all. The NHS website gives good advice. This is a pretty common childhood thing.

stressedoutfred Sun 11-Feb-18 08:50:42

Try and keep calm, tics are fairly common in childhood. If you can ( and I know this is hard!) try and ignore it and hopefully it'll go away thanks

Blankscreen Sun 11-Feb-18 08:57:52

My Ds gets tics that come and go. He's also 8. He's been having them for a couple of years and one has just come out in the last couple of days.

More related to his eyes. It it does my head in.

I know it will go, it has in the past but I still feel anxious every time.
I was reading up last night (again) and honestly just try and ignore it. Bloody hard I know.

Blankscreen Sun 11-Feb-18 08:59:31