Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

baby has coldsore, how worried should I be?

(29 Posts)
mammyoftwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:09:33

Dc2 has developed a coldsore today (but dc1 never had one, so I'm new to it). I know coldsores are dangerous in babies, but I don't know at what stage/how old it isn't a big deal anymore. Dc2 has had all jabs due so far.

Have phoned hv for advice earlier but no reply, so message left. It's now after five, so won't hear from her today. Do I need to do anything more now?

tia

Ecureuil Thu 30-Mar-17 17:10:09

How old is DC2?

mammyoftwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:10:49

also, I'm breastfeeding, is there any issue with that? ?can virus spead to me etc?
maybe that's a stupid question, just wondered if virus can be spread back to me and then back to baby etc?

dementedpixie Thu 30-Mar-17 17:11:42

Are you sure it's a cold sore? How old is the baby?

dementedpixie Thu 30-Mar-17 17:12:21

Can you take a picture?

mammyoftwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:15:01

sorry should have said dc2 19 weeks and over a stone, will try and get pic

mammyoftwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:18:50

single blister, small. lo out of sorts and unsettled today

mammyoftwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:21:39

,which isn't usual, normally they are happy smiley baby

RedBugMug Thu 30-Mar-17 17:22:53

take her to a&e

Neverknowing Thu 30-Mar-17 17:23:07

Looks like a spot to me, it may not even be a Coldsore.

Nowthereistwo Thu 30-Mar-17 17:23:56

Are you sure it's a coldsore. My dds have had hand, foot & mouth and had little sores like blisters round the mouth. Made then very uncomfortable.

Neverknowing Thu 30-Mar-17 17:25:13

Maybe try calling 111 and they'll tell you if you need to go in, oftentimes they can make you an appointment and you won't have to wait in A&E smile

blueskyinmarch Thu 30-Mar-17 17:25:56