Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

baby's penis swells when urinating

(20 Posts)
PebbleTTC Wed 15-Mar-17 19:10:50

Is this normal? He is almost 20 months

HerrenaHarridan Wed 15-Mar-17 19:13:20

His foreskin is too tight.

Try and gently push it back. If he seems like this is painful take to gp.
If not just keep doing it over the course of a few weeks to stretch it out.

PatMullins Wed 15-Mar-17 19:17:15

I'm not a doctor but I really wouldn't advise pushing it back at such a young age..?

PebbleTTC Wed 15-Mar-17 19:19:04

I thought you weren't to go at the foreskin?

60sname Wed 15-Mar-17 19:19:39

He's a toddler! The foreskin doesn't push back at this age as it's still attached.

Doctor explained this to me when I asked about DS' ballooning as a baby

Redyellowpinkblue Wed 15-Mar-17 19:20:03

PLEASE don't try and push it back!!!!!!!

The foreskin can be attached to the glans and pushing back even gently can cause lasting damage and huge pain - experience of this with close friends Ds.

Pop to the gp and he will take a look and go from there.

PatMullins Wed 15-Mar-17 19:20:55

I thought as much.

GP it is then, OP smile

ILoveAGoodBrusselSprout Wed 15-Mar-17 19:21:21

My DS's penis did this too. It's ballooning as the foreskin is still tight.

It's against medical advice to pull the skin back, please don't.

If he seems in pain or uncomfortable, take him to gp. Otherwise, give it time. It will loosen off.

DS is 4 and his is fine, as the doc said it would be

Popskipiekin Wed 15-Mar-17 19:21:40