Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Movicol Moguls. Total newbie here, can I ask some advice please?

(10 Posts)
GoodEggy Sun 15-Jan-17 21:04:07

So my 3 year old DS has been recently diagnosed with constipation. We've had an absolutely awful fortnight of astonishing pain, several doctors visits, A&E, a hospital admission and finally a diagnosis of constipation. We're now on 1-3 sachets a day of movicol, we're managing about 2, which seems to be working, more poos and no more pain.

We are finding it hard to get the stuff in him though, apparently he can taste it if I've hidden it in something just by looking at it. We've had the most success with chocolate porridge and apple juice but still struggling to get enough in him.

What do you hide it in?

tinymeteor Sun 15-Jan-17 21:29:29

If you're going to be doing it for a while, don't try to hide it - he won't be fooled and will get extra vigilant about working out what foods to refuse.

3yrs is old enough to explain it's his medicine, and he needs to take it. Then bribe him with a good reward afterwards, whether chocolate buttons, iPad time or stickers. It'll be hard at first but he will acclimatise.

There are also laxatives you can have as a drink instead, maybe ask the GP if Movicol isn't going well. DD has one called Cosmocol Paediatric which goes in 60ml of water, so it doesn't take her too long to put it away. Tastes like blackcurrant squash.

zubaspal Sun 15-Jan-17 21:42:38

Hi, I hope you have better luck with the horrible movicol than us!
My 3yr old has Hirschsprung's disease it worked in the beginning (with pretty extreme results and belly pains) then dd just would not drink it. I disguised it with most fruit juices but there was no fooling her. Have you tried it? I didn't blame her it was yuck!