Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Should I worry about the number of vomiting bugs DD (4) is picking up?

(5 Posts)
peacefuleasyfeeling Mon 05-Jan-15 15:18:41

DD1 (4) has just vomited (she has a sore throat and a cold but isn't really ill). This is the third bout of vomiting she's had since the start of December, missing two days of school after each occasion on account of the 48 hour rule (+a day extra last time as she threw up again on day 2). I'm a primary school teacher, albeit KS2, but I can't say I know of many, if any, kids who have been off this frequently with a DV kind of bug. Should I be worried about how often she's being sick, or is it to be expected at her age / this time of year? We're lucky in as much as we both work part time so sick kids don't impact on either of us going to work, but I wonder if I should have her looked at? Anyone else's children picking up one tummy bug after the other?

helensburgh Mon 05-Jan-15 22:15:06

Hi,

It does seem excessive in sch a short time.

Has either of you contracted these bugs after her? Or do you know where she's got them from?

If you are sure they are bugs I think you need to tackle school re theirm48 hr rule, doesn't seem like people are adhering it.

Bapple Mon 05-Jan-15 22:32:27

Does she have any other symptoms )(eg stomach pain) or just vomiting? Do the attacks follow a similar pattern - do they tend to start in the morning?

I asked a similar question on here when ds1 was 4 - he was later diagnosed with cyclical vomiting syndrome (which, odd as it may sound, was a relief). Amongst other triggers, he often starts an episode when he comes into contact with a cold virus/sore throat.

peacefuleasyfeeling Tue 06-Jan-15 14:56:53