Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

My little 2 year old boy with severe constipation

(12 Posts)
Farzanabm Fri 19-Dec-14 22:04:47

Hi All
Im new to this. So any advice would be great...
I have a 2 year old who suffers from severe constipation. Its a battle i have been fighting since i have had him. On going appointments with my GP, and now we are under a paedritician

His on several drugs the docs put him on such as Movical (4 sachs) lactolose, senna, ducosate sodium, sodium picosulphate and some enigma. I dont know how my poor baby handles all. Its so painful to list all of these. He has atleast 1 build up per month where he wont poo for upto 4 days and suffers. This is what kills me he grunts and sweats and the pain is agony to watch. The enigmas dont do much. His scared to have a clear out. Im at my wits end. The docs say its a sluggish gut and his even been off dairy to see if it was that, but the problem continued. Im quite good with his water and food supply. He has plenty of vegs and fruits.

We even had a scan to see if there was anything but nothing out of the ordinary.

Im going bk to the gp to see if i can have another paedritician because he cannot suffer like this

Anyone been through this?

IMurderedStampyLongnose Fri 19-Dec-14 22:17:01

Hi,my 3yo suffered badly with constipation too,long periods of not going at all.For him it has fortunately been (mostly) resolved win the movicol.He has been on it now for around nine months and we are at the stage were he only needs one sachet every day or every other day.i take it your DS isn't impacted now?Am sure you are probably expert by now but you know to avoid bananas and weetabix etc?prune juice is good for keeping them moving.Unforunately I can't be of much help but I didn't want to leave your post unanswered,it's so hard to see them in pain like that.