Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

One grommet out - now what?

(35 Posts)
Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 21:02:52

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 21:09:15

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 22:01:02

TheColdDoesBotherMeAnyway Thu 27-Nov-14 22:05:18

I would ask your HV or GP for a referral to audiology and go from there if you've got concerns about his hearing. When was it last tested? Are you due another appointment with them or ENT?

(I'm a student HV and parent of a toddler with glue ear smile)

TheColdDoesBotherMeAnyway Thu 27-Nov-14 22:06:43

And have a chat with his teacher about steps they can take in school.

StarlightMcKenzie Thu 27-Nov-14 22:07:14

Whaaat?

Of course they do one sided grommets. Or at least I had them, and all my kids have had them.

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 22:09:00

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 22:11:25

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 22:13:48

Memphisbelly Thu 27-Nov-14 22:16:28

I was told if my ds needed grommits in for a second time they would send him in for one sided but check the other ear at the same time, if it was working loose they would change than one too?

TheColdDoesBotherMeAnyway Thu 27-Nov-14 22:20:23

She's up and down - she's 2.4 now and diagnosed at 4 weeks so we've had a lot of audiology input but our ENT appt has only just come through. We're very lucky that her speech is good for her age she takes after dd1 who doesn't pause for breath but she is likely to be trialled with aids at her next assessment on Monday.

I would push for an audiology assessment, our team are really responsive. They can refer back to ENT as well if necessary.

Chat to his teacher, they will have come across glue ear before, I wouldn't jump in with the DVD and books straight away but you can always offer them.

Messygirl Thu 27-Nov-14 22:25:56

Memphisbelly Thu 27-Nov-14 23:02:57