Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Vicks vaporub at 8 weeks old

(12 Posts)
Imnotbeverley Wed 05-Feb-14 12:56:57

I know that it isn't recommended at less than 3 months, and I don't expect anyone to advise me to ignore that. But does anyone have any experience of using it on a baby's feet to help with congestion? My DS is so congested at night it is causing him to cough and making him very distressed. I have propped up his moses basket so that his head is higher than his feet, a am giving him a bath before bed whilst running hot water to make the bathroom steamy.

I obviously don't want to do anything that could harm him, I want to help him feel better! I am a nurse and the only reason I can think of to avoid it would be if it is irritable to his airway. A small amount on his feet under a babygrow rather than on his chest doesn't seem to me like a very strong "dose" that would cause a problem?

ilovepowerhoop Wed 05-Feb-14 13:00:09

Vicks isnt recommended under the age of 2 years so no I would use it anywhere near him. You could use saline nasal spray/drops and a baby snot sucker thing to help

Phantomteadrinker Wed 05-Feb-14 13:01:12

Try some snufflebabe. Same the but weaker. I think Vicks is too strong for babies' skin

ilovepowerhoop Wed 05-Feb-14 13:01:35

from vicks website:

In the UK Vicks VapoRub can be used with children as of the age of 2 years and above. Vicks VapoRub is for external use only. For this apply Vicks VapoRub lightly to the chest and back of your child by rubbing it in gently.

Pascha Wed 05-Feb-14 13:03:25

We use Snufflebabe here too.

rainbowfeet Wed 05-Feb-14 13:06:21

When ds was full of cold at 5 weeks I asked pharmacist about Vicks & he said defiantly not. All he suggested was the nasal drop clearer thing made by Calpol.

Phantomteadrinker Wed 05-Feb-14 13:56:20