Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Any HVs/nurses/doctors around? Blue dot on ds1's red book

(13 Posts)
MrTumblesCrackWhore Mon 22-Oct-12 14:08:38

Ds1 (3) has his jabs this afternoon - I've just dug his red book out and noticed it has a blue dot sticker on the back and wondered what it might be for.

I'm a teacher and know a blue dot is a discreet way of identifying an issue to the professionals without necessarily letting the child/parent know.

Would it be for him or for me? I can't think of any reason why it would be for him but I had PND so perhaps it is some way of flagging that up to the HV?

Any enlightenment gratefully received!

combinearvester Mon 22-Oct-12 14:13:29

Are you sure it hasn't always had a blue dot on? In my old area they used to put a blue dot on so they could easily pick up a girls or boys one without having to look inside. One of mine has a blue dot on <paranoid now>

I don't think any professional should be discreetly identifying an issue to any other professional without letting the parent/child know to be honest.

MrTumblesCrackWhore Mon 22-Oct-12 14:16:07

I have no idea - I literally just noticed it today. DD2 is asleep at the mo so I can't go into her room to get it but I'll see if hers has a different coloured dot on!

MrTumblesCrackWhore Mon 22-Oct-12 14:18:54

PS: I agree with you about the blue dot/not letting parents/children know.

People who I've worked with in the past have described students as 'blue dot kids'. Urgh.

chrisrobin Mon 22-Oct-12 14:20:37

Both my DS's books have a blue dot on, it is because they are boys. The girls books have a red dot on. The health visitor told me it was so she could see easily which book to give new parents as the centile charts for boys and girls are different.

TotallyEggFlipped Mon 22-Oct-12 14:21:05