Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Untitled

(12 Posts)
Tearose71 Thu 18-Oct-12 11:07:00

Hi can somebody let me know if possible if fetal decelerations two hours before delivery can cause any long term effects on the child if they are not dealt with immediately many thanks

Tearose71 Thu 18-Oct-12 11:16:59

The decelerations were between 70 and eighty beats

BeaWheesht Thu 18-Oct-12 12:16:50

Hi you could try reporting this in childbirth And remember to put a title. Sorry I can't help - ds had this during labour.

BeaWheesht Thu 18-Oct-12 12:17:06

Re posting!!

Tearose71 Thu 18-Oct-12 12:21:17

Thankyou I am new to thissmile

larrygrylls Thu 18-Oct-12 13:52:53

Unlikely as the blood is still being oxygenated by the mother at this point. Did they do a cord PH when the child was born? Decels are very common and means the baby is weakening and maybe needs to be born. The key thing is the baseline and how long it took to get back there (and ideally above it).

Tearose71 Thu 18-Oct-12 15:39:55

Hi thankyou for replying no record if a cord ph although I can remember it being around his neck (loosely) it just that I feel why was there never any mention of it to us my sister in law who is a midwife reckons when it drops that low a c section should be performed ??

larrygrylls Thu 18-Oct-12 15:54:42

Tearose,