Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Thrush

(8 Posts)
mamalion Sat 18-Jun-11 22:54:53

Hi
I am new to this and have never joined anything like this before, I am hoping someone can help me because I dont seem to be getting any answers anywhere else.
My 11 year old daughter has had thrush for a few weeks she has been using the cream and has been given a course of antibiotics, the problem is her perinium area is constantly cut and will not heal and she is in pain, this is breaking my heart as the only thing i can do is console her but i cant take the pain away, any help woud be so so so so so so gratefully recieved.
Thank you :0(

Seona1973 Sun 19-Jun-11 08:39:27

I would have thought antibiotics would make thrush worse. Is she old enough to take the tablet/use a pessary?

gottasmile Sun 19-Jun-11 08:51:09

My dd has just been through it and I got some great advice on here.

The first was to get her to take zinc (I found a multi vitamin with zinc in it).

The next was to put a little drop of tea tree oil in her bath.

Then cut out yeasty products like bread and cut out, as much as you can, sugar.

Hope that helps, your poor dd, it must be awful for her.

gottasmile Sun 19-Jun-11 09:00:04

And forgot to say probiotics. They can help too.

Pkam Sun 19-Jun-11 20:03:56

Second on the zinc here. My DDs both suffer recurrent thrush, read on here about zinc supplements and since they've been taking them they've been thrush free.

Keeny Mon 20-Jun-11 00:36:59

Your daughters immune system could be low if she's not eating healthily therefore causing infections and/ or candida.