Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

2yr old digestion need some advise /help

(8 Posts)
Liz1979 Sat 18-Jun-11 10:49:55

hi there i am a newbie and wondered if anyone had experienced this and should i be worried
my baby is 21 months old 2 in october and she has never not once had a "proper" formed poo i would say between a 6 and 7 on bristol scale but just recently shes had one or two gritty almost sandy poos
she has a healthy diet eating plenty of fruit and veg but nothing in excess
she definatley has not eaten any sand and i am a little worried

thumbwitch Sat 18-Jun-11 13:14:50

Have you not taken her to the GP about this?? What have they said? She should not be passing stools of that consistency at this point in her life on a daily basis, it indicates that she is not absorbing sufficient water back from her stools in her intestines. This could be for any number of reasons but she may not be absorbing all the nutrients she needs either.

If you haven't yet taken her to the GP over this, you must do so. She may have some kind of problem with her bowel, that could range from a lactose intolerance through to an intestinal infection - but she needs to be tested.

Liz1979 Sat 18-Jun-11 13:30:29

no not yet i mentioned it to the hv a long while ago and basically dismissed me and said all babys are diffrent it will settle as she gets older but she is now coming up 2 and they are getting worse we have had the odd motion with mucus in and as i said the gritty ones we have an appointment monday so i thought i would bring it up on here to see if anyone else had experienced this

thumbwitch Sat 18-Jun-11 13:37:49

not directly no but as you are seeing the GP on Monday that should help to sort things out for you/your DD.