Talk

Advanced search

What to read next- recommendations please!

(12 Posts)
usernametaken Tue 09-Jun-09 20:37:43

I'm looking for a few recommendations for DD to read aloud with DH at bedtime. DH does storytime with her, she insists on them both reading a page each.
Tonight they have just finished 'My dad's a birdman' by David Almond which both DD and DH enjoyed greatly.

Now what next? DD has read most of the Rainbow Fairy books, Milly Molly Mandy, Naughty Little Sister, Animal Ark, some Magic TreeHouse and most Dick King Smith.

She gets a little overwhelmed with small text (Enid Blyton size text is too small) and does like the odd picture or two. She is an animal and nature lover. She gets scared by things like giants, witches, 'naughty' things, aliens, monsters etc so the subject matter needs to be sensitive...this rules out Roald Dahl unfortunately.
Many thanks!

Jux Tue 09-Jun-09 20:45:02

Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III. Great books, lots of pictures, great fun. You might think Vikings are not for girls but dd loved them (and still does).

LadyGlencoraPalliser Tue 09-Jun-09 21:10:16

Mr Gum of course!!!!!
The best fun for reading aloud!

usernametaken Tue 09-Jun-09 21:33:26

I thought about Mr Gum...have just been looking on amazon. What would be minimum age for reading the Mr Gum books?

I checked Hiccup- they look fab...but the illustrations would scare her a bit...she is highly sensitive! But, I'll add them to the list of books to read in a year or two.

LadyGlencoraPalliser Tue 09-Jun-09 22:10:43

How old is she? DD3 is 6 and loves Mr Gum. So does DD2 who is 9 and even 11-year-old DD1 has been seen giggling over it in a corner.

LadyGlencoraPalliser Tue 09-Jun-09 22:12:52

If your DH can stand it, Unicorn school are good for age 5-7 good readers.
Also the Naughtiest Girl in the school series has been redone with bigger text and more pictures - there is a set of 10 (the last six or so are by Anne Digby, not EB)

singersgirl Tue 09-Jun-09 22:20:33

I think your DD is still very young, isn't she? What about those Jill Tomlinson books like "The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark"; I think there's a whole series about different animals. They're sweet and gentle, and I know DS2 read the owl one in Reception when he was 4. Teddy Robinson is fab and gentle -he also liked this at 4 and 5. There is an anthology available and I got lots of old ones for 1p on Amazon. The Little Wooden Horse is lovely too, though very sad at some points, so perhaps not good.

She might like the Humphrey books, about a school hamster, but the print is quite small in those and there aren't many line drawings.

Olga da Polga, Michael Bond's series of books about a guinea pig, are lovely too, with charming drawings.

usernametaken Tue 09-Jun-09 22:36:27

I'm writing all these down...excellent, thank you.
Jill Tomlinson is an excellent bet for her. I remember Teddy Robinson from when I was a child, I imagine my mum still has my old copies.
Singersgirl- yes, she is 4.2yrs now and an avid reader of any books from board/cloth ones to encyclopaedias. She reads picture books mainly but really enjoys sharing 'big' books with daddy at bedtime. It is their 'thing'!

wigglybeezer Tue 09-Jun-09 22:42:04

I was about to recommend Teddy Robinson too.

singersgirl Tue 09-Jun-09 22:52:19

My DSs still like Teddy Robinson now and they're coming up to 8 and 11!

LadyGlencoraPalliser Tue 09-Jun-09 22:52:50

Age 4 hmm, leave Mr Gum for a year or so then.
Junie B Jones is good - like an American Naughty Little Sister.
Dick King Smith's Sophie Books.
Magic Kitten.
Rumer Godden - The Fairy Doll.

MaKettle Thu 11-Jun-09 11:20:39

The Paddington books by Michael Bond?

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now