Talk

Advanced search

Murderous Maths?

(12 Posts)
CrouchingTigger Wed 03-Jun-09 20:40:14

Hi
My dd has read her way through the Horrible Science/Geographies books, and is now eyeing up Murderous Maths. Are they suitable for a bright Yr 3 child, or would it be best to wait a while? I have very little mathmateical knowledge or ability so don't trust myself to be able to judge. I don't want them to put her off, but she tends to be happy reading anything and everything...
Thanks in advance

snorkle Wed 03-Jun-09 21:41:33

Some are suitable and some aren't I'd say. The first couple are quite straightforward - try them & see how she gets on. Avoid the trigonometry one for a while.

CrouchingTigger Thu 04-Jun-09 10:59:00

Thanks Snorkle - not sure which are the first one though? I have seen ones about probability shapes, fractions and one about a sausage?! smile

snorkle Thu 04-Jun-09 11:52:27

Well, they're not numbered, so I may be making assumptions, but I always assumed
'muderous maths' was the first
and 'more murderous maths' the second!

'The Phantom X' - algebra
and 'The fiendish angletron' - trig
are probably the hardest and best avoided at least until after the others. Ds came back to the trig one a year or two after having read, but not really followed it first time around.

'the perfect sausage' is also quite hard (it covers circle theorems areas & volumes & stuff and touches on trig too I think, but in a 'push these buttons on your calculator' kind of way, rather than actually explaining it).

'vicious circles & other savage shapes' would be easier than the sausage one lots on triangles & stuff in it.

If she's good at and interested in maths & enjoys the first two then:

'The essential arithmetics'
'Do you feel lucky'
'Numbers the key to the Universe'
and 'The Mean & Vulgar bits'

would probably be the next ones in difficulty(ish) after the first two. (I'm guessing a bit though).

There are some puzzle books too.