Talk

Advanced search

Authors like Robert Muchamore

(13 Posts)
Lara53 Mon 10-Dec-18 12:34:45

My DS is 12 and is really enjoying Muchamore's Cherub Series and adamant he doesn't want to read any other authors, however his English teacher has challenged him to read something by another author over Christmas and I'm struggling to find something he'll agree to!

Witchend Mon 10-Dec-18 19:09:27

Jack Higgins?
I assume he's read Alex Rider.

Lara53 Mon 10-Dec-18 21:45:21

Yep read all the Alex Rider. Thanks

Talisin Mon 10-Dec-18 21:50:00

Charlie Higson’s young Bond series?

Talisin Mon 10-Dec-18 21:53:13

Oh and Chris Bradford’s Bodyguard series tends to be popular with Muchamore fans as well.

Lara53 Wed 12-Dec-18 08:50:11

He's read all those and loved them. Thanks

hugoagogo Wed 12-Dec-18 09:15:31

There's a website 'who writes?' It's very useful for these sort of questions.
I did a search for Muchamore and the result that jumps off the page for me is Mark Walden.

But I suspect his teacher is trying to get him to try something completely different? How about something like James Herriott? Or Bill Bryson? The Hitch Hikers Guide? Or a discworld novel?- Mort is always a good place to start.

Jonboygoodnight Fri 14-Dec-18 23:10:23

Which Bill Bryson book do you think would be most suitable for a 12 year old?

hugoagogo Sat 15-Dec-18 12:45:15

Well, being a bit of a purist I would go for 'Notes From a Small Island'.
It did come out in 1995 though, which makes it less sweary, but also a bit dated.

IrishMamaMia Sat 15-Dec-18 13:09:23

Definitely Mark Walden's HIVE series, also some of the Anthony Horowitz series such as Alex Ryder, the Gone series, Car-jacked by Ali Sparkles.
Its not similar at all but Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman is a riveting series too and starts tackling real world issues.

Witchend Sun 16-Dec-18 01:33:08

Don't know who it's by but there's a series starting with a book called something like "I am number four".
It's sci fi rather than spying but dd1 read them at about the same time as Cherub and enjoyed them.

hugoagogo Sun 16-Dec-18 09:50:06

That sounds like Pittacus Lore -Lorien Legacies.

OhCobblers Thu 03-Jan-19 08:03:05

Theodore Boone by John Grisham. Young /boy lawyer. My 11 year old who loves the cherub series also loved this box set.

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, watch threads, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now »

Already registered? Log in with: