Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Books similar to Milly Molly Mandy

(15 Posts)
Ricekrispie22 Sun 05-Nov-17 13:25:20

I loved these gorgeous stories when I was little and have shared them with DD. Just wondered if there if anything similar that I've forgotten or haven't yet discovered.

hesterton Sun 05-Nov-17 13:26:59

Family at One End Street?

hesterton Sun 05-Nov-17 13:27:17

My Naughty Little Sister?

Babymamamama Sun 05-Nov-17 13:29:51

Don't know if they are similar but I enjoyed these in the same era along side Milly Molly Mandy: Bullerby children and Pippy Longstocking. I also really enjoyed revisiting them with dd.

VioletCharlotte Sun 05-Nov-17 13:30:38

I used to love my naughty little sister when I was young. Also all the Enid Blyton books- the Faraway Tree, The Wishing Chair... has she read any of these?

How old's your DD?

hesterton Sun 05-Nov-17 13:30:59

Oh yes! Pippi Longstocking!

Also Clever Polly and the Stupid Witch

Mrs Pepperpot

hesterton Sun 05-Nov-17 13:31:27

Sorry, wolf not witch

OwlKiss Sun 05-Nov-17 13:35:04

Teddy Robinson

Mary Kate

Etymology23 Sun 05-Nov-17 13:37:55

Teddy Robinson and clever polly and my naughty little sister, then I also loved all the Enid blyton ones (she did some about families too, maybe one called the caravan family/children?) and there were some about a magic panda, possibly called izzie?

Adelie0404 Sun 05-Nov-17 13:41:41

Dianna Wynne Jones - the Chrestomanci series.
Little House in the big woods etc Laura ingalls Wilder
the Jill's Gymnkhana series
If you can find them, Mary Plain!

Ricekrispie22 Sun 05-Nov-17 13:49:58

Really enjoying these suggestions. Thanks
DD is 6

haba Sun 05-Nov-17 13:55:53

Olga da Polga
Pippi Longstocking
Moomins
Ballet Shoes

BananaSandwichesEveryDay Sun 05-Nov-17 14:06:26

I was also going to suggest The Family From One Street. Loved that book when I was a child.

Witchend Sun 05-Nov-17 15:29:18

A bit longer but some of the Swallows and Amazon books (I'd recommend Swallowdale as a second to the original A&A book) have a similar old time feel.
Possible some of the Winnie the Pooh too.

As well as many of the others mentioned here!

Leeds2 Sun 05-Nov-17 21:17:07

Iggy & Me series by Jenny Valentine is a modern day take on My Naughty Little Sister.
Paddington books.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now